Doubleife – Because one life is never enough

Carpe Diem

Role Call

“We need role models who are going to break the mold” – Carly Simon

image13

So what do Scarlett Johansson, Rosario Daweson and Zooey Deschanel have in common?
Each of these women is my ideal in body positivity. They are each sexy, goofy, cast in amazing roles, sing uniquely and have a natural beauty and confidence that I make an effort to emulate.

Scarlett has not only been a successful actress from a young age (I always wanted to act) but has worked with amazing directors such as Woody Allen and Sofia Coppola. As the Global Ambassador for the aid and development agency, Oxfam, her Activism work makes her a strong role model for a life well rounded. In addition to being a spotlight sex symbol she is intrinsically a private person and I couldn’t respect her more for it. Ms. Johansson rarely discusses her personal life with the press, saying, “It’s nice to have everybody not know your business.” I agree. I don’t want EVERYONE in my life to know the ups and downs of every aspect of my day to day. There is something to be said for respecting a persons privacy. Everyone deserves respect and she commands it by not cheapening her image with drama fodder for the press.

image14 Rosario makes me smile in every role she has chosen to play. Again an actress who has had the honor of working with amazing directors like Quinton Tarrentino, Robert Rodriguez, Spike Lee and Kevin Smith (yeah I said it, because his shit cracks me up.) Ms. Dawson just plain rocks and I love her natural no makeup look (yeah I am probably fooling myself just let me pretend.) She is also a huge Activist for everything I find admirable from her involvement in Lower East Side Girls Club to her charitable support of Oxfam, Amnesty International and Parents, Families and Friends of Lesbians and Gays.

image15 Zooey just has that sense about her that feels awkward and real. I love her voice, her style and her acting. She has the capacity to make you as comfortable as she can make someone uncomfortable with just the expression on her face. Of course she was in The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy and (500) Days of summer but the roles that will always stand out for me were Gigantic and Flakes, two off beat films that made me smile and feel like she could really be a person in my life based on the characters she was cast in. Her sense of self is “flaws and all” perfect! And her musical career, although not as well known, makes her all the more well rounded as a person to look up to.

Now as for my own aspirations, I would love to act. I have taken classes and participated in small stage parts. I am not currently in a position to audition for anything locally, but it is on my to do list. I love to sing and have been involved in choral productions as well as solo performances. Sadly due to years of smoking, my voice has faded from it’s former glory. Of course, that never stops me from belting out a good song accompanying my iPod in the car (I rock out!) I have been tossing around the idea of doing bit of stand up comedy. I write routines down as they come to me but hesitate to do an open mic night until I feel the act is tight. That never stops me at a social gathering though where I typically make everyone smile and laugh with hilarious stories and antics. My writing is my biggest pursuit currently ranging from the Erotica you are reading here every Friday to Sci-Fi Fantasy Romance, Short Story (life diary) Comedy and Children’s books.

I hope you have enjoyed reading this and make yourself as happy as writing this blog makes me.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

